top of page

The History of Robertstown

The Robertstown area is the traditional lands of the Ngadjuri people. The Ngadjuri have been largely overlooked in the histories of colonisation and the subsequent dispossession from their traditional lands.

​

In the early days of colonisation, the land in the district was primarily leased to stations like Anlaby and Koonoona. However, from 1850 onwards, the area was surveyed into smaller blocks, attracting European settlers to the region. The first settlers were likely stock overlanders from New South Wales.

​

As the settlement grew, a wine shanty operated by Mr. O'Dea became the first shop in the area. John Roberts, a Koonunga storekeeper, later catered to the community with his traveling shop and eventually settled in the town, opening a general store and post office. Later, Roberts' son constructed a new store, which was renamed Lehmann's Store after being acquired by a long-serving employee. It was only in mid-2024 that Lehmann's Store eventually closed, but the legacy of the store continues to be one of the most enduring pieces of the town's history.

​

The S.A. Asbestos & Mining Co. Ltd operated a mine from 1894 that was 13 kilometres (8.1 mi) northeast of the town. The Blue Hole Mine was operated as an open-cut quarry from 1940 to 1951, 5 kilometres (3.1 mi) northwest of the town.

​

Robertstown was previously the terminus of the Robertstown railway line from Eudunda and Adelaide, which operated between 1914 and 1990. Over time, the population of Robertstown gradually increased, reaching a peak of approximately 2,100 residents in 1936, before declining.

​

Today, Robertstown is home to just over 200 people, with 49 houses within the town at last census count. 

Robertstown derives its name from John Roberts, the first postmaster in the region, who established the town layout in 1871. Previously, it was referred to as Emu Flats.

​

In the image: John Roberts in 1880

Come and see Robbie!

bottom of page